For questions, nominations, suggestions and contributions to the Awards please contact:

Orvin Olivier
3208 E. 31st
Sioux Falls, SD 57103

Written by Sharon Ripperger   
Tuesday, 30 October 2012 13:58
Last Updated on Thursday, 09 October 2014 11:06
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 5

Award Details

BFA Awards

U.S. Ballooning Hall of Fame

A Partnership of the Balloon Federation of America and the National Balloon Museum

Criteria:  Exemplary contribution to the history, development or growth of ballooning in the United States

award process....

Shields Trauger Award - deadline for nominations June 30

This is a special award (BFA’s highest) and does not have to be awarded annually, Up to three (3) Shields-Trauger awards may be given in the same year. read more....

Ed Yost Master Pilot Award

The Balloon Federation of America (BFA) recognizes the efforts of lighter than air pilots who have maintained safe flight operations for 40 or more years.
award process....

National Crew Person - deadline for nominations August 15

 An award recognizing an outstanding crew person read more.....

 President's Award

Awarded by the BFA President for meritorious service to the BFA.

There is no solicitation of nominees for the BFA President’s Awards in that the president alone makes such determinations.The presentation of these awards will be made during the Annual General Membership Meeting.
Award Recipients

Director's Award

Each year a Regional Director may present a Director’s award to a person or organization from their region. At- Large Directors may present a Director’s award to a person or organization from any BFA region. Awards will be presented at the Annual General Membership Meeting.

There is no solicitation of nominees for the BFA Director Awards each Director makes such determinations.

Award Recipients

Bill Murtorff Spirit of Ballooning Award

Given to a member who has contributed to youth programs/education in the sport of ballooning.  Award is open to all BFA Members

Nominations can be up to but not longer than two pages.  Nomination's must include name of nominee, address, years of experience in ballooning and the candidate's contributions to youth programs/education in regard to the sport of hot air ballooning. Nomination should include the reason the candidate should receive the award.

  1. Written nominations must be sent to the BFA Office no later than June 30th of award year
  2.  All nominations will be sent to the BFA Awards Committee Chair
  3.  Awards Committee will present the candidate to the BFA Board of Directors
  4.  Award will be presented at the Annual General Meeting

Award Recipients






Hot Air Competition Division Awards

Jeannette Ridlon Piccard Trophy - National Champion Award


When the trophy was originally presented to the BFA, the original hot air balloon race trophy, given for the St. Paul Winner Carnival Balloon Race, titled “Jean Piccard Trophy for Thermal Balloons”, was still active and the new trophy was titled “Jeannette Ridlon Piccard Trophy awarded by the Balloon Federation of America for U.S. National Montgolfiere’ Championship”. read more....

Duane C. Clark Memorial Trophy – U.S. National Championship Senior Division Champion

This award is given annually to honor the exemplary skills of the highest ranking senior pilot (age 60+) in the National Championship final standings.

The award was originally established as the Senior Pilot award. BFA member and competitor Duane Clark was instrumental in initiating the award, provided the trophy in 2002, and won a Senior Championship. Duane last participated in the 2006 Nationals. He died the following October after a brief fight against Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma. His family then proposed to rename the Senior Pilot award in his honor including funding for the annual trophy. In 2007 the HACD officially accepted the Clark family’s proposal and renamed the Senior Pilot award the Duane C. Clark Memorial Trophy.

Past recipients:

2007 Joe Heartsill

2008 Owen Keown

2009 Joe Heartsill

2010 Joe Heartsill

2011 Joe Heartsill


Elizabeth J. Domont Memorial - Safety Award

History: Memorial Fund was established in 1981 in memory of Elizabeth J. Domont, an Indiana pilot, who was killed in 1978 when her balloon collided with power lines. read more....

Rookie of The Year

Award is presented annually by the Hot Air Competition Division to a first time competitor who places highest nationally at the National Championship.

more inf....

National Point Leader

Awarded to the BFA Competitor placing highest nationally in BFA Sanctioned Tasks to read more....

Landowner Appreciation Award

Presented to a Landowner who exhibits exemplary hospitality and/or service during the U.S. National Hot Air Balloon Championship. read more....

Championship Director Awards

A way to recognize their staff for their contribution to BFA or the National Championship.  Awards are presented at the Championship Awards Ceremony.

NAA Awards

Frank G. Brewer Trophy

For additional information please go to

Harmon International Trophies

About the Trophy.....

NAA Safety Award

This award will be issued in the name of NAA and will be for: For making a significant contribution to the safety of an air sport during the previous year.

For additional information please go to

Robert J. Collier Trophy

For additional information please go to

Wesley L. Mcdonald Elder Statesman Award

About the Award

The Elder Statesman of Aviation Award was established on October 16, 1954, by the Board of Directors of the National Aeronautic Association. In 2007 the award was re-named the Wesley L. McDonald Elder Statesman of Aviation Award.  A new trophy design was also unveiled and more....
FAI Awards

For More Information on FAI/CIA  awards please visit their website at

CIA International Balloon and Airship Hall of Fame

Deadline – must be submitted to the FAI Office to arrive not later than December 31st of Award year.

Montgolfier Ballooning Diploma (FAI/CIA)

These Diplomas were established by the FAI in 1960. Three Montgolfier may be awarded annually, one to recognize each of the following: read more....

Santos-Dumont Gold Airship Medal

This Medal, established in 1994, honours Alberto Santos-Dumont for his contributions to the developments and to the sport of flying airships, culminating in his historic flight around the Eiffel Tower in Paris, on October 19, 1901, thus winning the Deutsch Prize. 100 medals are contributed by the Virgin Islands Aero Club.

Paul Tissiander Diploma (FAI)

Perpetual international awards established in 1952 by FAI in memory of Paul Tissandier, a pioneer French aviator, Treasurer of the FAI from its foundation to 1919, and its Secretary General from 1919 to 1945 read more....