Featured Corporate Member





   All BFA Corporate Members 


BFA Board of Directors Face to Face meeting recap Print E-mail
Saturday, 16 October 2010 10:20

The BFA board of directors recently met in Albuquerque New Mexico for a face to face meeting Sept 30-Oct 1 2010. There were many items on the agenda, but the items that seemed to take up a lot of discussion time were both membership and the website.

Here is a recap of the items that the board discussed. President Troy Bradley opened up the meeting comparing two companies Netflix and Blockbuster. Ten years ago, Blockbuster was a well established successful company and Netflix was a young start up. Currently, Blockbuster is bankrupt and Netflix has grown by leaps and bounds.  Filling a demand in a different way is the key to Netflix’s success and the way for our organization to thrive and succeed as well.  Troy expressed to the board that our membership continues to decline, and we need to work together as a board so we do not become a Blockbuster.

Jim Thompson gave the treasurers report and showed some concern for the upcoming year. The board and staff have work diligently to cut expenses while providing member services that are valuable to our members. Over the two days, the board genuine concern for the sport and the organization showed as there were many ideas that came forth to save the organization money.

The online safety seminar was a huge success this year and will happen once again February  5, 2011, broadcasting live from Lakeland, Florida. This year’s speakers will include; Troy Bradley, Gordon Schwontkoski, and a few others. Cost this year will be $25.00 if registered before December 1, 2010, $35 after December 1 and $125 for non members of the BFA. There will be a registration form and ability to pay online on the website.

Registration for the convention has officially been opened. You can visit the BFA website to find a link to the convention website and to register. The convention committee has been working hard to provide the best program possible. The keynote speaker for the convention is Joe Kittinger. You can also reserve hotels on the convention website at the rate of $99.00 at the Marriott.

The HACD report talked about the worlds and pre world’s championships coming to Battle Creek, Michigan in 2011 and 2012. The BFA team in Hungary representing USA at this year’s worlds is Nick Donner, Johnny Petrehn, Joe Heartsill, Paul Petrehn and Owen Keown.  (See the competition area on www.BFA.net for the results)

One topic that had a lot of energy came from Matt Fenster. He gave a proposal at the April face to face meeting about a crew division of the BFA. He came to the board for this meeting with a proposal of what the membership category will involve. For $30.00 a year, crew can become a nonvoting BFA member with many benefits geared toward crew. They will receive a crew t-shirt, electronic calendar of festivals across the country, electronic newsletter with reports from various festivals, topics for crew training, tailgate recipes, crew tips and tricks, and more. They will also receive 1electronic issue of the ballooning journal. They will also be added to a database so pilots across the country can find crew either at festivals or as they travel. Board member Cory Miller contacted the balloon clubs around the country and those that responded showed the huge need for this membership category. Why not get your valuable crew members a membership and thank them for all of the hard work they have done for you over the years. You can call the BFA office to get started.

The website received a lot of attention and many of the topics came back to the website. Troy Bradley put together a 20 something focus group and they looked at the BFA and how to make it better. They gave some great suggestions on what the site should have.  Many of those in the focus group have grown up in ballooning as well. The board also gave a lot of input as to what they wanted to see on the site and improvements to drive people to the site. Rick Jones was in attendance at the face to face meeting so there was good discussion what can be done with the site. The first two items include adding more color to the front page and to get the for sale ads up and running.

The 50 year commemorative coins have been for sale for a couple of weeks. These coins were made to celebrate the last 50 years of the BFA. These coins sell for $15.95 which includes shipping from Indiana and have a msrp of $19.95. These are bronze in color and have a raised edging. These coins can only be ordered on a pre-order basis and once we reach 100 coins, we will submit the order. Call the BFA office today to reserve your copy.

The youth camps this year held one camp in Michigan. There were about 20 campers that attended. The camp in Texas was cancelled due to lack of attendees. Next year, camps are scheduled to be held in Texas, Michigan, and the NE area where the location to be determined. If you are interested in hosting a camp in your area contact Shelly Caraway or Cory Miller for more information.

Maury Sullivan presented a document to the board that the Events Guidelines committee has been working hard for the past 6 months. There will be a review period in the future to give input and it will be presented at the convention. This document is a non-binding guideline to help balloon festivals organize a successful and safe event. Watch for more details as they develop.

Awards were given out at the Annual General Meeting.

This year's recipients of the Director’s award are:

Great Eastern Balloon Association given by Bill Hughes-Northeast region

Barbara and Steve Stokoe given by Jim Lynch- Southeast Region

Roy Caton given by Kevin Knapp- at large

Bill Zangs given by Ken Walter- Great Lakes region

Pat Brake given by Shelley Caraway- Southwest region

Sharon and Edd Higbee given by Andy Baird- at large

Bob Tyszka given by Cory Miller- Western Region

The Presidents award was given to Maury Sullivan by Troy Bradley for his generous

commitment of time, unwavering support and continual dedication to the Balloon

Federation of America.

HACD  2009 Awards:

National Points Leader - Nicholas Donner

Highest ranking Rookie - Rhett Heartsill

Highest Ranking Female - Cheryl Edwards

WhiteHighest ranking Senior Pilot - Joe Heartsill

Most improved pilot 2 - Bruce Bussey and William Bussey (tie)

The Shields Trauger awards were announced at the AGM and will be presented at the convention in Des Moines. This years recipients are Colonel Joseph W Kittinger Jr and Louis R Billones.

Your new officers for the 2010-2011 year are:

President- Troy Bradley

Vice President- Matt Fenster

Secretary- Cory Miller

Treasurer- Kevin Knapp.

Please feel free to contact any one of the board of directors at any time with any questions or concerns that you may have.

Board Members:

Troy Bradley-   tbradley@bfa.net

Matt Fenster -   fenster@bfa.net

Cory Miller -    cmiller@bfa.net

Kevin Knapp - kknapp@bfa.net

Andy Baird -  abaird@bfa.net

Ken Walter-   kwalter@bfa.net

Debb y Standefer –  dstandefer@bfa.net

Jim Lynch-   jlynch@bfa.net

Bill Hughes – bhughes@bfa.net

Jim Thompson – jthompson@bfa.net

Last Updated on Wednesday, 01 December 2010 23:17