The Quick Release





PHOTO SUBMITTED BY DANNY BREEDE

2016 BFA Board Officer Election Results

The new directors & officers began their service in October.

President • Dean Carlton dean@heritagedevelopment.com / (217) 446-2365

Vice-President • Cheri Edwards White cheri.white@usa.net / (512) 261-3236

Treasurer • Maury Sullivan tequilatom@aol.com / (330) 526-6032

Secretary • Tim Cloyd tecvisions@hotmail.com/ (515) 205-4855

Our Newest Members

Kumar Bhaskar - Dubai

Lisa Gianetti - Colorado Mark Chapman - Texas Brett Revnolds - Utah Anna Eaton - Vermont Brayman Bailey - New York Brickman Chase - Kentucky DeAnna Wardwell - New York Dillon O'Bryan - Rhode Island Emma Castellari - Illinois Hanna Lang - New Jersey Harrison Kuehl - North Carolina Jackson Jessup - North Carolina Justin Lapointe - Ouebec Katherine Stecker - North Carolina Keith Vorhauer - New York Michaelo Calvo - New York Morgan Eaton - Vermont Trevor Snider - Illinois Tyler Nilson - Connecticut Virginia Waddell - Virginia Jeff Knapp - Michigan Whit Landvater - Nevada Daniel Sheehy - Kansas Tim O'Leary - West Virginia James Smith - Michigan Jerry Boone - Colorado Sam Jenkins - United Kingdom Cheryll Pringle - Florida Bailey Hodgin - North Carolina Kenton Slayton - Kentucky Blake Jacobs - Illinois Hal Adams - Arizona Stuart Brent - Tennessee Paul Hopkins - New York Kelly Wells - Louisiana Katherine Smale - Ohio James Allison - New Mexico Laurie Chavez - New Mexico Jerry Hooper - Texas Ryan Goodnight - California Katrina Lomax - California John Walsh - Pennsylvania Gordon Emry - Nebraska Kimberley Sweetwood - Colorado Pamela Fancy - Colorado Garrett Hillary - Illinois

Shields-Trauger awards presented to the Padelts / Bussey

Two Shields-Trauger awards were announced at the BFA's Annual General Meeting. This special award (Balloon Federation of America highest) is for an active balloonist(s) with special contribution aerostatics, namely:

- Notable flight
- Worthwhile contribution to science of aviation
- Important contribution to ballooning safety
- Exemplary service to BFA

Bert and Joanie Padelt

Bert and Joanie Padelt of Bally, Pennsylvania were nominated for working side by side, making significant technical and design improvements to balloons which have achieved historic status. More than a dozen of their balloons have set distance and/or duration records. They are the only balloon builders to have built gas balloons that have flown over both the Atlantic and Pacific oceans. They have recently developed a safe, light, cost effective, hydrogen gas balloon system that has stimulated gas balloon opportunities in the United States and beyond.

Dr. Bill Bussey

Dr. Bussey (pictured above) of Longview, Texas organized and founded the Great Texas Balloon Race in 1978. In addition, Dr. Bussey organized the first ever "Balloon Glow"in 1980 which is now common at balloon festivals around the world. For 38 years Dr. Bussey's vision of a world class competitive balloon event in Longview has been shared by the hundreds of volunteers and sponsors that work untold hours to prepare for the event. The end result is the thousands of spectators that gather at the Gregg County Airport to witness the excitement of the competition and breath-taking beauty of the night time Balloon Glow and beyond.



BFA PAST-PRESIDENT SAM PARKS AND DR. BILL BUSSEY

2015 Directors **Awards** presented

The 2015 Board of Directors awards were presented at the BFA's Annual General Meeting on October 3, 2015. Annually each member of the Board may choose to select an outstanding BFA member within their region (or at large) for their contribution to the BFA and the sport of ballooning.

Dean Carlton Great Lakes Region awarded to:

Lynee Bixler

Cheri White Southwest Region awarded to:

Mark Sullivan

Scott Wooge At-Large Rep. awarded to: **BFA Convention Committee**

Katie Griggs Western Region awarded to:

Mike Gilligan

David Tanzer Northeast Region awarded to:

Paul S. Stumpf

Sam Parks Southeast Region awarded to:

Bill Smith

David Rapp North Central Region awarded to:

Bill & Louis Clemons

Ted Watts At-Large Rep. awarded to:

Gene Burnstein



EDITOR JOHN C. TRIONE

P.O. Box 484, Lake Geneva, WI • 53147 USA (262) 206- 3975

EMAIL: jtrione@lakegenevaballoon.com

BFA BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT VICE-PRESIDENT SECRETARY TREASURER

MEMBERS

- Dean Carlton - Cheri White
- Tim Cloyd - Maury Sullivan NAA REPRESENTATIVE - Troy Bradley
 - Cheri White - David Tanzer
 - Katie Griggs Scott Wooge
 - Tedd Watts

BFA OFFICE

OFFICE MANAGER SHARON RIPPERGER

P.O. Box 400, Indianola, IA • 50125 USA (515) 961-8809

EMAIL: bfaoffice@bfa.net / WEBSITE: www.bfa.net



Great Eastern Balloon Camp Announces for 2016

The Great Eastern Balloon Camp will once again return in 2016 as a BFA camp in Pennsylvania. Location still being worked out - most likely Millersville or Kutztown. Possible dates July 10-14 or July 17-21 . . will update when we know.

-Gene Burnstein, camp director



Padilla wins National Crewperson Award

Dominic Padilla of Albuquerque, New Mexico was awarded the BFA's National Crew Person Award for 2015 for his 16 years as an active crew member.

He currently serves as a crew chief and crew member in an unpaid status for the Wells Fargo balloon team and also

helps other professional pilots in the Albuquerque area. He participates as a crew member or crew chief for up to 75 flights and tether events per year.



honored with **Tarter** President's Award

Past President Sam Parks presented the Gary Tarter family with the BFA's President's Award in appreciation of their benevolence to the BFA. Gary was a beloved member of the Balloon Federation of America, and had a great passion for all things ballooning.

A special ceremony was held by Gary's friends on the field at the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta to honor his memory.

Mr. Parks stated that Gary was a good friend to ballooning, and that he is dearly missed.

Yost Master Pilot Awards presented to

3 members were presented the Ed Yost Master Pilot Award at the BFA's Annual General Meeting for 40 years of safe LTA piloting experience.

In order to qualify for this award, pilots must have 40 years of LTA piloting experience and be a citizen of the United States or a resident member of the Balloon Federation of America. The effective start date for the award is the date of the applicant's first solo flight or date of receipt of a LTA pilot certificate, whichever occurred first. A current flight review is not required at the time of nomination. The recipient must also have been active in the sport of ballooning during most of those 40 years.

The winners (shown left to right) were Tom McConnell II, Dewey Reinhard, and Jim Ahern.





three