Newsletter of the Balloon Federation of America

The Quick Release



2019 BFA Election

2019 BFA Election Timeline

Cut-off for voter eligibility **July 8, 2019**

Nomination by petition on or before **July 10, 2019**

Ballots mailed July 26, 2019

Online Ballot opens

July 29 at 6 a.m. CST

Paper Ballots returned no later than

August 28, 2019

Closes at 10 p.m. CST

Count ballots on August 30, 2019

Notify candidates of results **September 6, 2019**

Announce results by email and website by **September 9, 2018**



Watch for candidates to start their campaigns soon!!



2019 BFA Board Candidates

Great Lakes Region Director Al Reusch, Macomb, IL

Southwest Region

Anthony Lard, Albuquerque, NM Josh Sneed, Hutto, TX Al Lowenstein, Albuquerque, NM

At Large

Scott McClinton, Louisville, KY Eliav Cohen, Burien, WA James Eagle, Candler, NC

2019 BFA HACD Candidates

Western Region Director

Myia Hackett, Walla Walla, WA Pat Nilz, Tucson, AZ

HACD At Large

Adam Magee, Swisher, IA Aaron Foelske, Channahon, IL Susan Stamats, Cedar Rapids, IA

HACD NE Region

No candidates

2019 Gas Division Candidates

Ken Draughn, Burlington, NC Andy Cayton, Black Creek, GA Barbara Fricke, Albuquerque, NM



AWARDS

Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award

Al Lowenstein was awarded the FAA's Wright Brothers Master Pilot Award in a ceremony held in the Albuquerque Balloon Museum on April 23, 2019. Over 50 years of flying!





Pilot Achievement Award Program - PAAP

Adam Magee has been approved for Level 7 One more level to go Adam! Good Job!

If you are interested in the PAAP program find information here: https://bfa.net/education-training/achievement-programs





2019 U.S. HOT AIR BALLOONING HALL OF FAME

Inductees are Eleanor Vadela, Jim Birk and Nick Saum.
Inductions will be in Indianola, Iowa at the National Balloon Museum on July 28, 2019 at 1:00-3:00.
Public is welcome



Sid Cutter Award

The Albuquerque Aerostat Ascension Association (AAAA) is now accepting nominations for the Sid Cutter Award. First awarded in 1975, this award is presented annually in Sid Cutter's name by the AAAA to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the sport of hot air ballooning. The nominee should be an individual whose extraordinary dedication has benefited the hot air ballooning community as a whole and is someone whose actions and efforts are not otherwise widely or publicly recognized. This award is presented during Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta Awards Luncheon in October. Recipients of the Sid Cutter Award are also awarded an honorary membership in AAAA. Written nominations must be submitted to the AAAA Board of Directors prior to the last day of August. Mail nominations to: AAAA Board of Directors; PO Box 90160, Albuquerque, NM 87199-0160 or email to board@hotairballooning.org



•	
July 4-7	Teton Valley Hot Air Balloon Rally
July 5-7	Stoweflake Hot Air Balloon Rally
July 12-14	Angola Balloons Aloft
July 12-13	Balloons Over Vermilion
July 19-21	Elkhart County 4-H Fair Balloon Chase
July 19-21	Paris Balloon & Music Festival
July 19-21	RE/Max The Group Balloon Round Up
July 19-21	The Great Wellsville Balloon Rally
July 19-21	Riverton Rendezvous Balloon Rally
July 19-20	Southwest Louisiana Hot Air Balloon Festival
July 21	Top Gun Monthly Flying Event

Great Texas Balloon Race Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Festival Balloon Classic National Balloon Classic Driggs, Idaho
Stowe, Vermont
Angola, Indiana
Danville, Illinois
Goshen, Indiana
Paris, Texas
Casper, Wyoming
Wellsville, New York
Riverton, Wyoming
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Longview, Texas
North Canton, Ohio
Indianola, Iowa

**Don't see an event here? To get an event on the BFA Schedule of Events: https://bfa.net/events5/submit-a-calendar-event







July 26-28

July 26-28

July 26-Aug 3

THERE IS STILL TIME TO REGISTER! BFA 2019 Camps Schedule SPOTS STILL AVAILABLE!!

High Sierra Camp - Reno, NV June 23 -28th, 2019 TWO SPOTS OPEN!!

Keystone State Camp-Factoryville, Pennsylvania July 6th - 11th, 2019 FIVE SPOTS OPEN!!

Rio Grande Camp-Albuquerque, New Mexico July 13th - 18th, 2019 FULL!!

https://bfa.net/bfa-summer-camps



2019 New LTA Pilots

Andrew Samuelson Shaun Johnson Mehmet Atar Cory Tagtow Max Moerles David Hettick Jaxon Mattox Scott Schultz Kat Beebe JJ Mancini Tamlyn Hedemann Susan Lindsay Sandra Van Wye

Great job!

New pilots are eligible for a one-year free electronic BFA membership. To receive this, please call the BFA office at (515) 961-8809 to set up your FREE membership. **Congratulations!!**



FAR/AIM QUIZ

Question: Where are the documents and what documents are required by 61.3 to be located during flight of a civil aircraft? Where do you keep yours, ladies?

Find answer at: 61.3

(Look for answer in June's QR)

LAST MONTHS QUIZ & ANSWER

Question: What are the requirements to be Current as Pilot in Command?

Answer: 61.57

No person may act as PIC of an aircraft, carrying passengers or of an aircraft certificated for more than one pilot crewmember unless that person has made three (3) takeoffs and landings within the preceding 90 days and a flight review within the preceding 24 months.



WELCOME NEW BFA MEMBERS

Darrell Day Maria Riehl Robert Bray Lowell Moore Kevin Kalbac Daniel Halderman Rio Rancho, NM **David Hawkins** Dylan Bradley Charles Brown Jr

Rock Island, IL Brighton, CO Aberdeen, SD Orlando, FL Little Elm, TX McKinney, TX Temecula, CA Mt Washington, KY Brendan Puckett Anthony McCollum Rachel Spear Ron Clukey Darby Hollenbach Harold G Campbell Frank Karlovec John Wilson

Milliken, CO Purdin, MO Foley, AL Juno Beach, FL Raleigh, NC Lorenzo, TX Scottsdale, AZ Albuquerque, NM





Balloon Federation Of America

BFA Office Manager Jill McConnell P.O. Box 400 Indianola, IA 50125 (515) 961-8809 EMAIL bfaoffice@bfa.net Website www.bfa.net

BFA Quick Release Tamie Folley, Editor EMAIL tamiefolley@gmail.com (970) 420-4109

